What to post, what to post…

In my effort to keep up with blogging – since I know damn well the moment I get lazy about it is the moment my blog goes down in flames – I have been trying to post something every day.

The problem is, I really don’t have much to report today.  A has been playing Assassin’s Creed IV for hours now, only taking a break at lunch time so we could watch Space Jam and eat left over chili dogs for lunch.  And I have been alternating between staring at all of the grading I should be doing, pinning crafts I will never accomplish on pinterest, and checking on my cows on Hay Day (while I’m not exactly looking forward to going back to work, I’m excited for the opportunity to return to a normal, functioning member of society…Christmas Break has nearly done me in…I’m sure I will be singing a different tune after being reacquainted with my darlings’ attitudes and refusal to do homework…ahhhhhh 11th and 12th grade).

ANYWAYS, while exploring a few blogs on this infernal internet machine, I caught up on Tucked Neatly Away’s blog and all her baby bump business.  Since becoming pregnant, I have become obsessed with other pregnant ladies’ bellies.  It’s bizarre.  It isn’t just the bellies, though…I’m addicted to pregnant people.  I guess there are worse addictions to have…

In any case, she has tracked the last few weeks of her pregnancy by jotting down observations about various aspects of her body, cravings, and the rest.  Given my lack of anything to blog about today (unless y’all wanted to hear about how cute my dogs are in their hoodies or something – the answer:  RIDICULOUSLY CUTE), I’m going to take a leaf out of her book and jot down some pregnancy related things.  Courtesy of Tucked Neatly Away, here are a few tidbits about my pregnancy this week.

How far along?  As of today, I am 14 weeks and 5 days.  Leaving behind the first trimester was an AMAZING feeling.  It’s not that I’m a particularly superstitious person (we told extended family at 8 weeks), it’s just…there is a lot of relief being done with that period of most intense brain and heart development and where generally, if something is to go wrong, it will be during those first 13 tenuous weeks.

Maternity clothes?  YES AND I’M NOT EVEN MAD ABOUT IT.  Over the past week and a half or so, it’s like I have a belly out of nowhere.  Now…I’m not saying it’s 100% baby, as my metabolism seems to have come to a screeching halt, but what I am saying is I’m going to everybody else that indeed, this baby is just a’ growin’!  But for real, I needed work clothes, specifically pants.  So I purchased a couple pants last weekend.  (p.s. maternity clothes are so comfortable…I might never go back to a normal waistband again…judge me.)

Stretch marks? Naw, not quite.  I’m sure they are looming on the horizon, though.  As far as genetics are concerned, I come by stretch marks honestly.

Sleep: Eh.  Not terrible, not great.  But my back HURTS every morning I get up.  I’m thinking about investing in a big body pillow.

Movement: No, not that I would even know what it feels like, as this is the first butter bean to take up residence in my uterus.  I have been reading about quickening and the like…seems to me like unless the baby punches me, I would just assume it’s gas, of which I have in mass quantities.  But, I’m not really far enough long for all that yet anyways.  Maybe in a few weeks!

Food cravings: Not…specific cravings.  But sometimes, I get it into my head that I MUST EAT THAT WENDY’S FROSTY RIGHT NOW AND IT DOESN’T MATTER WHAT TIME IT IS OR WHERE WE ARE OR HOW COLD IT IS OUTSIDE.

Gender: No idea!  We find out at the beginning of February!  CAN’T WAIT.

Baby is: About the size of a lemon, but don’t call him a lemon head.

Best moment this week: On a whim, and after spending too much time watching videos of people using one at home, I purchased an at-home fetal doppler.  We got a Sonoline B.  It came in on Thursday.  No, I could not wait until my husband got home, and yes, I was pretty disappointed the first time around.  I didn’t find the heartbeat after about 10 minutes of searching.  I decided to call it quits for a while and tried again an hour later.  After 5 minutes or so, BOOM, like a horse racing around a track, I found the clippity-clop of butter bean’s heartbeat.  It is always a thrill to hear the heartbeat, but it was especially cool to hear it while laying on my couch, a puppy dog tucked up under each armpit (they have personal boundary issues).  I recorded it to send to my parents.  When A came home, he wanted to try it again.  This time, it only took me a minute or so to find it among the swishing and swooshing of the placenta and arteries.  So. Cool.  We have decided to only use it every few days and to never take it to heart if we can’t find the heartbeat immediately.
Looking forward to:  Finding out the gender.  If I don’t explode from excitement before then.
And that’s that!  Thank you, Tucked Neatly Away for the awesome list!
One thought on “What to post, what to post…

  1. Aw! I’m glad you like the list. I saw it on a bunch of other blogs and figured I’d copy. It makes it easier to track what’s going on. I forget way too much already!
    Ps I’m jealous about the Doppler. And may just invest myself. I have a “tilted” uterus so I hesitate to purchase because even my Midwife had issues finding the heartbeat at first

Leave a Reply

