Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon

This just in: let’s pretend that science has proven that karma is a thing. Your words and actions will influence what happens to you in the future. How (if at all) will you change your ways?

dys·to·pia

noun \(ˌ)dis-ˈtō-pē-ə\

1.  an imaginary place where people lead dehumanized and often fearful lives

(Definition courtesy of Merriam-Webster)

Sometimes, the most beautiful thing about life is spontaneity.  Making rash decisions, falling in love, drinking too much wine, cursing, crying, yelling, laughing…all moments that are decided on a whim.

Imagine a world without spontaneity.  Imagine a world in which each decision is carefully thought out, calculated, and inspected for future retributions or rewards.  How can a world that is focused solely on the future lend any kind of promise or excitement in the present?  If I live in constant fear that my mistakes, outbursts, or over exuberance will negatively effect my life in the future, how do I live in the now?  A constant life of fear…my actions and words are measured…does this not sound like Harrison Bergeron or  1984?  Sure, good and decent decisions I make will be rewarded, but is it not human nature to make mistakes?  The human capacity to forgive becomes useless and dies out if I can’t redeem myself through others and must pay for every poor decision I make.

Would I change my ways if karma was a scientifically proven phenomenon?  Probably not.  I live my life the best that I can and am proud of the way I treat those around me.  I am compassionate to a fault and quick to give second (and third and fourth and fifth) chances.  But rather than permanently live in the future, fearful of my every action and word, I would like to dally in the moment.  I would like to be silly and make mistakes and be forgiven and forgive others for the mistakes they make.  In a world in which karma exists, I would rather take my licks than live in fear about every decision I make.

****

Interesting topic!  On its face, my immediate reaction was to say, “well yeah, of course I will change.”  But the more I thought about it, the more I wasn’t so sure.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon

  1. Pingback: Full Circle – Daily Prompt, photo | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: what goes around…really goes around | In The Moment

  4. Pingback: What do we know about this crazy thing we call “karma”? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Various Negative Reactions To My Decision To Walk To Santiago De Compostela

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: The Dancing Circles of Karma | Words 'n Pics…

Leave a Reply

