37 Weeks Update

Happy 37 weeks (as of 6/9/2014) to me!

Here’s a little belly action from this morning’s doctor appointment:

My arms got pregnant, too.  Lame.

My arms got pregnant, too. Lame.

Speaking of the doctor, let’s start there, shall we!

>Tested positive for GBS (Group B Strep).  For those who aren’t familiar, GBS is a bacteria that can be found in the gastrointestinal tract.  It can also colonize in the vagina.  It effects anywhere from 10-30% of pregnancies, so it isn’t completely uncommon.  It is not a sexually transmitted disease, nor is it the same bacteria that causes strep throat (that’s Group A).  Because GBS can colonize in the vagina, a carrier of GBS can pass GBS onto their baby during the birthing process.  It is important to get tested for GBS between weeks 35-37.  Untreated, GBS can cause serious complications, such as hearing/vision loss, meningitis, paralysis, and sepsis to the baby.  BUT, DO NOT FRET.  All of those complications tend to be pretty rare.  The important thing to keep in mind if you are GBS positive is that you will need antibiotics during labor.  Most (like me) will scoot on over to the hospital at the first onset of labor or when their water breaks so they can begin their IV drip of antibiotics.  You need about a 4 hour window to get these antibiotics before baby arrives.  Some, who wish to labor longer at home, also have options, such as penicillin shots they can administer at home.  If you deliver a full term baby and do not encounter a fever during labor (or other telltale signs), there is an even smaller risk you will pass GBS onto your baby.  For information, check out some of the following links:

BabyCenter GBS

American Pregnancy

(GREAT LINK!) Mayo Clinic

>Dilation and Effacement:  Cervix still thick and a fingertip dilated.  If you follow my blog, you know that last week I was such a sad panda at the news that literally nothing was happening down there, BUT after finding out my husband will be out of the state while I’m 38 weeks pregnant, I’m not so sad anymore!

>Peeing in a cup…total crap shoot.

>I’m feeling pretty good, all things considering!  Sleep is a total no-go, but everything else is checking out alright!  (Although, I have a feeling this is due more to the fact that I’m used to being so uncomfortable, it doesn’t phase me anymore…)

Nothing else to report on the baby front!  It seems absolutely surreal that we are nearing the last couple weeks.  To be honest, I’m so tired of pregnancy and talking about pregnancy.  It’s boring.  We’ve been doing it for the past 9 months…I’m going mad.  Because of that, we spent the past weekend doing NOTHING baby related.  It was swell.  I definitely suggest to all my fellow pregnant ladies to take a break from the baby stuff!  I feel refreshed 😀

 

 

11 thoughts on “37 Weeks Update

  1. You look fantastic! 😀
    I was GBS+ with babies #2 and #3. I got the meds with #2 but I was only at the hospital with #3 for 59 min so there was NO time for meds. :/ That was the only downside to laboring quickly, for me.

    • Everything was alright with baby #3? When doc told me, I was just like, “okie dokie” because I know 9 times out of 10, everything is fine when GBS+. But my poor husband is beyond freaked out. I think he feels like it’s just one more thing about pregnancy and birth that is totally out of his control and he wants to help but can’t. Poor dude. He’s a good man.

Leave a Reply

